RSS

Breaking free but not broken…

04 Aug

image

This is the first time in a relationship that I didn’t put a portion of my happiness in someone else’s hands. Meaning that I knew that he couldn’t make me happy and therefore I didn’t burden him with that responsibility. I understood that my happiness could only come from inside of me. I was happy going in and I’m still happy even though the relationship came to an end. I own my happy and therefore I also own my life. This is also the first relationship I’ve experienced while being 100% emotionally healthy. I suffered no damaging emotional pain and I didn’t take his pain personal.

The experience showed me how ok I am with being single. Its funny how you think you desire an experience only to find that you don’t really need it. That’s tremendous growth for me because I used to feel incomplete if I wasn’t in a relationship.

We’ve been conditioned to think that we are incomplete if we aren’t with someone. By time you’re 30, family, society and etc. are yelling, YOU SHOULD BE MARRIED!! Then as soon as you get married, they pressure you to reproduce. Hey that’s what people are supposed to do, right? If you divorce, its shame on you!

In the middle of all those demands, not many people are asked, “What do you want?” We are told what to do, by religion, other people, the media and etc. And let’s not talk about the labels placed on our depending on our relationship status…
image

This freedom has put me in a entirely different place within myself. Now I know I have a choice, I have options. There’s absolutely no internal pressure. I can do whatever or whomever and still be ok! A relationship is no longer mandatory to me. If one happens, it’ll be complimentary, not absolutely necessary. I cannot describe this new feeling but I just love it!
image

You can learn a lot when you’re paying attention, especially to yourself…

Until next time my scrumptious lovebuckets,
Tiffany Michellè

 
5 Comments

Posted by on August 4, 2014 in Dating, Life, Love

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

5 responses to “Breaking free but not broken…

  1. Jennifer Cole

    August 4, 2014 at 2:20 PM

    I love this post more than words can say. It’s ALL about being happy and secure and ignoring peer pressure!!

    Like

     
    • Tiffany MichellĂ©

      August 4, 2014 at 2:30 PM

      Thank you soooo much Jennifer!!! I love the fact that I feel this way đŸ™‚ Thanks for the feedback love.

      Like

       
  2. Chin Up, Chest High!

    August 4, 2014 at 2:51 PM

    We’re in the same place đŸ™‚ Though I am in a relationship, this time I will have no qualms about walking away from her if things turn sour. We are not our relationships; a failed marriage is not a reflection on you.

    Loving the rational yet positive vibes of your blog đŸ™‚

    Like

     
  3. Jodie D

    August 18, 2014 at 12:16 AM

    Left up to me this blog post will go viral….A message needed to be shared and discussed amongst humans. So empowering, insightful, clarifying,…..thank you for sharing

    Like

     
    • Tiffany MichellĂ©

      August 18, 2014 at 6:52 PM

      Thank you for your attention and your compliments! Please share the blog with whoever you feel would benefit! Much Love!

      Like

       

Leave a Reply

 
